Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

  • Congratulations bkrike on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help - Script to change TS Profile Path Not working!

Status
Not open for further replies.

mRgEE

IS-IT--Management
Oct 13, 2003
61
GB
Hi,

I have the following script to change the Terminal Services Profile Paths for all members of a specific AD security Group. Problem is that it doesn't work. The script doesn't error and executes succesfully but the TS profile Path still will not change. I am new to VBScript and would appreciate if anyone could take a look at the script and let me know what could be wrong with it.

Set cn = Getobject("LDAP://cn=test group,ou=security Groups,ou=CCC,ou=DA,dc=uk,dc=ccc,dc=mydomain,dc=co,dc=uk")

For each obj in cn

if obj.TerminalServicesProfilePath = "\\ukcsql02\ts_profiles\" & obj.cn Then

obj.TerminalServicesProfilePath = "\\ukcsql02\ts_profiles\Optika\" & obj.cn

obj.setinfo
end if
next
 
... so I tried the following: -

intContainerCount = 0
Set objContainer = _
GetObject("LDAP://cn=test group,ou=security Groups,ou=CCC,ou=DA,dc=uk,dc=ccc,dc=mydomain,dc=co,dc=uk")
For Each objLeaf In objContainer
intContainerCount = intContainerCount + 1
Next
WScript.Echo "Enumeration: " & intContainerCount


... and got the follwoing result on the cmd: - Enumeration = 0.

Now I know that their are members in this group so I then changed the LDAP to point to: - LDAP://ou=security Groups,ou=CCC,ou=DA,dc=uk,dc=ccc,dc=mydomain,dc=co,dc=uk
(Removed the cn=test group) and got the following result which I expect: - Enumeration = 37

So it would seem that the Count property isn't implemented by ADSI's LDAP provider (I don't know why) and also that I still cannot enumerate the leafobjects inside of the cn=test group object.

Any ideas?
 
do you have on error resume next in your script#?
 
Perhaps this will help everyone get up to speed:


Mr T
New Member

Posts: 5
Score: 0
Joined: 3/1/2006
Status: online Hi,

I have the following script to change the Terminal Services Profile Paths for all members of a specific AD security Group. Problem is that it doesn't work. The script doesn't error and executes succesfully but the TS profile Path still will not change. I am new to VBScript and would appreciate if anyone could take a look at the script and let me know what could be wrong with it.

Set cn = Getobject("LDAP://cn=test group,ou=security Groups,ou=CCC,ou=DA,dc=uk,dc=ccc,dc=mydomain,dc=co,dc=uk")

For each obj in cn

if obj.TerminalServicesProfilePath = "\\ukcsql02\ts_profiles\" & obj.cn Then

obj.TerminalServicesProfilePath = "\\ukcsql02\ts_profiles\Optika\" & obj.cn

obj.setinfo
end if
next


RE: Help - Script to change TS Profile Path Not working! - 3/1/2006 9:32:34 AM
No New Messages

ebgreen
Super Member



Posts: 702
Score: 7
Joined: 7/12/2005
Status: online This is your entire script? You don't have On Error Resume Next somewhere in your script?

_____________________________

"... isn't sanity really just a one trick pony anyway?! I mean, all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you are good and crazy, oooh, oooh, oooh, the sky is the limit!" - The Tick

(in reply to Mr T)


Post #: 2

RE: Help - Script to change TS Profile Path Not working! - 3/1/2006 9:37:30 AM
No New Messages

Mr T
New Member




Posts: 5
Score: 0
Joined: 3/1/2006
Status: online Yep, this is my whole script. Unfortunately, I am brand new to VB script, looking to start scripting to make things easier.
I bought a couple of books that I have started reading.
Any advice on how to improve the script and get it working would be greatly appreciated.

(in reply to Mr T)


[Send Private Message] Report | Rate post | Post #: 3

RE: Help - Script to change TS Profile Path Not working! - 3/1/2006 9:42:18 AM
No New Messages

ebgreen
Super Member



Posts: 702
Score: 7
Joined: 7/12/2005
Status: online If you do this do you get anything listed?
Set cn = Getobject("LDAP://cn=test group,ou=security Groups,ou=CCC,ou=DA,dc=uk,dc=ccc,dc=mydomain,dc=co,dc=uk") For each obj in cn WScript.Echo obj.TerminalServicesProfilePath next


_____________________________

"... isn't sanity really just a one trick pony anyway?! I mean, all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you are good and crazy, oooh, oooh, oooh, the sky is the limit!" - The Tick

(in reply to Mr T)


Post #: 4

RE: Help - Script to change TS Profile Path Not working! - 3/1/2006 9:52:48 AM
No New Messages

Mr T
New Member




Posts: 5
Score: 0
Joined: 3/1/2006
Status: online I get nothing when I run the above script you provided, the script executes but nothing is displayed :(

I checked the full LDAP path from ADSIEDIT - (although the proper names are modified in this post).
Do I need to run this script on a DC?


(in reply to ebgreen)


[Send Private Message] Report | Rate post | Post #: 5

RE: Help - Script to change TS Profile Path Not working! - 3/1/2006 10:02:00 AM
No New Messages

ebgreen
Super Member



Posts: 702
Score: 7
Joined: 7/12/2005
Status: online Do you get a count displayed when you do this:

Set cn = Getobject("LDAP://cn=test group,ou=security Groups,ou=CCC,ou=DA,dc=uk,dc=ccc,dc=mydomain,dc=co,dc=uk") WScript.Echo cn.Count


_____________________________

"... isn't sanity really just a one trick pony anyway?! I mean, all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you are good and crazy, oooh, oooh, oooh, the sky is the limit!" - The Tick

(in reply to Mr T)


Post #: 6

RE: Help - Script to change TS Profile Path Not working! - 3/1/2006 10:10:52 AM
No New Messages

Mr T
New Member




Posts: 5
Score: 0
Joined: 3/1/2006
Status: online I get the following message on the cmd: -

C:\Documents and Settings\seige\Desktop\testTS.vbs(3, 1) Active Directory: Not implemented

:(

(in reply to ebgreen)


[Send Private Message] Report | Rate post | Post #: 7

RE: Help - Script to change TS Profile Path Not working! - 3/1/2006 10:30:42 AM
No New Messages

ebgreen
Super Member



Posts: 702
Score: 7
Joined: 7/12/2005
Status: online Sounds like you are not getting a collection back at all then. I'm not a strong AD person. Perhaps someone that is will wander along.

_____________________________

"... isn't sanity really just a one trick pony anyway?! I mean, all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you are good and crazy, oooh, oooh, oooh, the sky is the limit!" - The Tick

(in reply to Mr T)


Post #: 8

RE: Help - Script to change TS Profile Path Not working! - 3/1/2006 10:31:53 AM
No New Messages

Mr T
New Member




Posts: 5
Score: 0
Joined: 3/1/2006
Status: online ... so I tried the following: -
intContainerCount = 0 Set objContainer = _ GetObject("LDAP://cn=test group,ou=security Groups,ou=CCC,ou=DA,dc=uk,dc=ccc,dc=mydomain,dc=co,dc=uk") For Each objLeaf In objContainer intContainerCount = intContainerCount + 1 Next WScript.Echo "Enumeration: " & intContainerCount


... and got the follwoing result on the cmd: - Enumeration = 0.

Now I know that their are members in this group so I then changed the LDAP to point to: - LDAP://ou=security Groups,ou=CCC,ou=DA,dc=uk,dc=ccc,dc=mydomain,dc=co,dc=uk
(Removed the cn=test group) and got the following result which I expect: - Enumeration = 37

So it would seem that the Count property isn't implemented by ADSI's LDAP provider (I don't know why) and also that I still cannot enumerate the leafobjects inside of the cn=test group object.

Any ideas?

(in reply to Mr T)


[Send Private Message] Report | Rate post | Post #: 9

RE: Help - Script to change TS Profile Path Not working! - 3/1/2006 10:34:13 AM
No New Messages

ebgreen
Super Member



Posts: 702
Score: 7
Joined: 7/12/2005
Status: online Please see the part about me not being a strong AD person (we must have been posting at the same time)

_____________________________

"... isn't sanity really just a one trick pony anyway?! I mean, all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you are good and crazy, oooh, oooh, oooh, the sky is the limit!" - The Tick


[red]"... isn't sanity really just a one trick pony anyway?! I mean, all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you are good and crazy, oooh, oooh, oooh, the sky is the limit!" - The Tick[/red]
 
No - I don't have on error resume next in the script. The script. Should I?
 
in that case it implies that you have no objects in that OU
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Sponsor

Back
Top