Contact US

Log In

Come Join Us!

Are you a
Computer / IT professional?
Join Tek-Tips Forums!
  • Talk With Other Members
  • Be Notified Of Responses
    To Your Posts
  • Keyword Search
  • One-Click Access To Your
    Favorite Forums
  • Automated Signatures
    On Your Posts
  • Best Of All, It's Free!

*Tek-Tips's functionality depends on members receiving e-mail. By joining you are opting in to receive e-mail.

Posting Guidelines

Promoting, selling, recruiting, coursework and thesis posting is forbidden.

Students Click Here

Odd issue

Odd issue

Odd issue

I have a Debian 8 ISPConfig server running postfix. It's been running fine for over a year. Now we have one company we can send to but not receive from. In the mail.log I find a rejection:

postfix/smtpd[6573]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from mail.xxxxx.com[207.999.88.777]: 450 4.7.1 <barracuda.xxxx.com>: Helo command rejected: Host not found; from=<btv1==4896ec45cff==someemaliname@xxxx.com> to=<ouremailname@ourdomain.com> proto=ESMTP helo=<barracuda.xxxx.com>

So, I look up xxxx.com and it checks out 207.999.88.777 (I faked this address & the xxxx.com to protect them). However barracuda.xxxx.com doesn't exist. Hence the proper rejection. It looks like they installed a barracuda firewall server recently and that blew it up. We used to receive email from them just fine and then all of a sudden @3 in the afternoon one day blammo.

When I contact them I get TOTALLY flamed. He's claiming I changed my configuration and it's improper and won't ever work even for may own email. Obviously, I haven't changed anything in a year and all our other email works fine.

Here's the problem. This is a big customer for use and we can't upset them. Is there any way I can white list their barracuda.xxxx.com to let it pass.

Thank you so much in advance for any help

RE: Odd issue

You can't, they have to fix it by adding a DNS reverse lookup for the IP/name that is assigned to their mail server.

Check the actual IP with this tool.


Indifference will be the downfall of mankind, but who cares?
Time flies like an arrow, however, fruit flies like a banana.

Never mind this jesus character, stars had to die for me to live.

RE: Odd issue

I'd love to but the IT guy there is on such a rant that I don't dare poke him more. We'll loose the customer.

RE: Odd issue

Currently looking at a pcre entry to the helo_access file. But frankly I'm scared to restart in case I kick everybody off and they come looking for my scalp :)

RE: Odd issue

Looks like I got it fixed. I added pcre entries to the helo_access file in /etc/postfix

/^barracuda.xxxx.com/ OK
/^207.777.88.999/ OK

Restarted postfix and seem to be getting emails from xxxx.com now.

This file as I understand it gets checked prior to the rest of the helo checks (it's early in the list in main.cf) and passes barracuda.xxxx.com without looking it up.

Will see how it goes over the next few.

If anyone knows of a security issue with this I'd appreciate knowing about it.

For now Thanks All

Red Flag This Post

Please let us know here why this post is inappropriate. Reasons such as off-topic, duplicates, flames, illegal, vulgar, or students posting their homework.

Red Flag Submitted

Thank you for helping keep Tek-Tips Forums free from inappropriate posts.
The Tek-Tips staff will check this out and take appropriate action.

Reply To This Thread

Posting in the Tek-Tips forums is a member-only feature.

Click Here to join Tek-Tips and talk with other members! Already a Member? Login

Close Box

Join Tek-Tips® Today!

Join your peers on the Internet's largest technical computer professional community.
It's easy to join and it's free.

Here's Why Members Love Tek-Tips Forums:

Register now while it's still free!

Already a member? Close this window and log in.

Join Us             Close