×
INTELLIGENT WORK FORUMS
FOR COMPUTER PROFESSIONALS

Log In

Come Join Us!

Are you a
Computer / IT professional?
Join Tek-Tips Forums!
  • Talk With Other Members
  • Be Notified Of Responses
    To Your Posts
  • Keyword Search
  • One-Click Access To Your
    Favorite Forums
  • Automated Signatures
    On Your Posts
  • Best Of All, It's Free!
  • Students Click Here

*Tek-Tips's functionality depends on members receiving e-mail. By joining you are opting in to receive e-mail.

Posting Guidelines

Promoting, selling, recruiting, coursework and thesis posting is forbidden.

Students Click Here

Jobs

SSIS Shared Data Source mismatch

SSIS Shared Data Source mismatch

SSIS Shared Data Source mismatch

(OP)
I am using SSIS 2008 and have a Data Source (Solution Explorer) that originally was using DB1 on Server1 and its connection string.  I created a Shared Data Source in my 5 packages using that Data Source.

I then changed the Data Sources Server to Server2 with a different DB (DB2) and its connection string.  I did this by double clicking the Data Source under Data Sources in the Solution Explorer (Data Source designer) and pressing the Edit button.  I made the changes then closed it.

I then checked the Shared Data Sources in all my packages and they all showed the new changes and were pointing now at Server2 with the correct DB2 in the connection string.

But when I ran the packages I found the data was being updated in the original database (DB1) on Server1.  After much hand wringing I found that even though the Data Source Designer was showing the Server and connection string properly, which I right clicked on the Shared Data Source - it showed the old Server (Server1) and the old DB (DB1)

Does that mean I have to go into each Shared Data Source and change the Server and Connection string through the properties???

If that is the case, what is the point of having a Shared Data Source.  At first I thought that maybe the Shared Data Source wasn't created as a Shared Data Source but then I realized if that was the case, the Data Source Designer would also be showing the original Server and DB when I change the Data Source.

Why is it working like this???

Thanks,

Tom

Red Flag This Post

Please let us know here why this post is inappropriate. Reasons such as off-topic, duplicates, flames, illegal, vulgar, or students posting their homework.

Red Flag Submitted

Thank you for helping keep Tek-Tips Forums free from inappropriate posts.
The Tek-Tips staff will check this out and take appropriate action.

Reply To This Thread

Posting in the Tek-Tips forums is a member-only feature.

Click Here to join Tek-Tips and talk with other members! Already a Member? Login

Close Box

Join Tek-Tips® Today!

Join your peers on the Internet's largest technical computer professional community.
It's easy to join and it's free.

Here's Why Members Love Tek-Tips Forums:

Register now while it's still free!

Already a member? Close this window and log in.

Join Us             Close