×
INTELLIGENT WORK FORUMS
FOR COMPUTER PROFESSIONALS

Log In

Come Join Us!

Are you a
Computer / IT professional?
Join Tek-Tips Forums!
  • Talk With Other Members
  • Be Notified Of Responses
    To Your Posts
  • Keyword Search
  • One-Click Access To Your
    Favorite Forums
  • Automated Signatures
    On Your Posts
  • Best Of All, It's Free!
  • Students Click Here

*Tek-Tips's functionality depends on members receiving e-mail. By joining you are opting in to receive e-mail.

Posting Guidelines

Promoting, selling, recruiting, coursework and thesis posting is forbidden.

Students Click Here

Jobs

Lotus Notes R5 - Copy Master/Original Database

Lotus Notes R5 - Copy Master/Original Database

Lotus Notes R5 - Copy Master/Original Database

(OP)
I am undergoing a data conversion and need to copy the master/original database in order to work with the copy version and not the original. Does anyone know how to create a copy of a database? Thanks!

RE: Lotus Notes R5 - Copy Master/Original Database

You have 2 methods for copying a Notes database reliably : you can do a File/Database/New Copy or do a File/Replication/New Replica.

What is the difference between the two ?

The New Copy will give you a database with the same design, the same amount of documents and the same document content. In other words, exactly what you need to "work with the copy version".

The New Replica will give you the same things as the New Copy, but in addition, you will be able to replicate the copy with the original if should wish to do so. Beware though : you need to control the replication permissions to ensure that you do not replicate before you are ready to do so.
The simplest way to ensure that you do not replicate by mistake is to go to the database properties, choose the Replication Settings button, go to the Other tab and disable replication entirely.
Also note that if you delete a document in your copy (because you made a wrong edit) and copy the same document again from the original database, it will not be the same document any more - you will have destroyed the replica link for that document and you will be creating an entirely new one. If you then replicate the databases, you will either end up with two versions of the same document (the one you deleted and the one you copied) or the original will be deleted and your new version will be the only one left - following your access rights on the original database.

I've got nothing to hide, and I'd very much like to keep that away from prying eyes.

Red Flag This Post

Please let us know here why this post is inappropriate. Reasons such as off-topic, duplicates, flames, illegal, vulgar, or students posting their homework.

Red Flag Submitted

Thank you for helping keep Tek-Tips Forums free from inappropriate posts.
The Tek-Tips staff will check this out and take appropriate action.

Reply To This Thread

Posting in the Tek-Tips forums is a member-only feature.

Click Here to join Tek-Tips and talk with other members! Already a Member? Login

Close Box

Join Tek-Tips® Today!

Join your peers on the Internet's largest technical computer professional community.
It's easy to join and it's free.

Here's Why Members Love Tek-Tips Forums:

Register now while it's still free!

Already a member? Close this window and log in.

Join Us             Close