×
INTELLIGENT WORK FORUMS
FOR COMPUTER PROFESSIONALS

Contact US

Log In

Come Join Us!

Are you a
Computer / IT professional?
Join Tek-Tips Forums!
  • Talk With Other Members
  • Be Notified Of Responses
    To Your Posts
  • Keyword Search
  • One-Click Access To Your
    Favorite Forums
  • Automated Signatures
    On Your Posts
  • Best Of All, It's Free!

*Tek-Tips's functionality depends on members receiving e-mail. By joining you are opting in to receive e-mail.

Posting Guidelines

Promoting, selling, recruiting, coursework and thesis posting is forbidden.

Students Click Here

script to set "allow this document to synchronize" to true

script to set "allow this document to synchronize" to true

script to set "allow this document to synchronize" to true

(OP)
Hi,
A number of my undocked users, somehow, have lost the default tick in this box when creating new linked documents.
Is there anywhere I can set this using a script (some of my users are less than expert users...)
Goldmine premium V8

Thanks

RE: script to set "allow this document to synchronize" to true

They'll need to check the box under Tools > Synchronize > Syncronization Settings to allow new documents to sync by default.

---
Chad Smith

Check out the GoldMine Blog at http://www.thegmblog.com

MCP - Microsoft SQL Server
Crystal Reports Certified Professional
GoldMine Certified Professional
Microsoft CRM Certified Professional

RE: script to set "allow this document to synchronize" to true

(OP)
Chad,
Thanks for your reply.
Yep, I can see that. My concern is that they wouldn't have unticked that in the first place. I am looking to script it out to make sure that all my users have that ticked. They are spread all over the country and cannot get back to head office, you see.
I have written a script that will tag all current documents for syncing, but I want to change the default.
Frontrange believe that if you change a document to "all this document to sync" then all future ones will - but that's not the behaviour I am seeing.
Any idea where this choice is held in the DB/which .ini file?
Many thanks

RE: script to set "allow this document to synchronize" to true

(OP)
Also, only users with master rights have the ability to see this option, and I am not going to promote their security to that level.
It is not in the .ini file (thought I had found it, but changing the SyncRecord option does nothing) so once again, I think that I am in the "USECURITY" encrypted field nightmare.
Unless I can decrypt this field, make changes and then re-encrypt it for the users, then I will probably have to admit to senior management that this product is probably not for us. I need to be able to manage my users remotely - thats why we chose a product that professes to allow that. We have 30 remote users now, climbing to 100+ over the next year.
I will keep you posted as to how we get on - even if it is to throw Goldmine away!!!

RE: script to set "allow this document to synchronize" to true

I think you're having trouble seeing the forest for the trees.  

Master rights is not handed out via an ini setting.  

You cannot set an ini option at the corporate headquarters and expect the remote users' ini files to be affected -- ini files/settings don't sync.  

I think you found the right option (pretty simple to find out) but this is something you would need to handle at the time you're rolling out the remotes -- not after.  To update this option for your remotes now, you'll need to get remote with them.

Doug Castell
Castell Computers
www.castellcomputers.com

RE: script to set "allow this document to synchronize" to true

(OP)
Hi again Goner.
I have sorted it by writing a script that is executed on each users laptop and updates its <username>.ini file.
I know master rights are not sent out via .ini file - only too well!! What I am saying is that the users do NOT have the option to change these settings - they can't even see their sync settings. And yet, I can see the dates that synching stopped for the local documents (by looking at the linkeddoc path in contsupp). It DID work - now it doesnt.
Now our supplier has said that if you right click a link and choose edit, you can click "allow this document to sync" and that will also set the default for all future documents - however, this is NOT the behaviour I am seeing. I can repeat this and have reported it as a bug to Frontrange.
I will post the script if you like - it's a .cmd file, so runs natively.
 

Red Flag This Post

Please let us know here why this post is inappropriate. Reasons such as off-topic, duplicates, flames, illegal, vulgar, or students posting their homework.

Red Flag Submitted

Thank you for helping keep Tek-Tips Forums free from inappropriate posts.
The Tek-Tips staff will check this out and take appropriate action.

Reply To This Thread

Posting in the Tek-Tips forums is a member-only feature.

Click Here to join Tek-Tips and talk with other members! Already a Member? Login

Close Box

Join Tek-Tips® Today!

Join your peers on the Internet's largest technical computer professional community.
It's easy to join and it's free.

Here's Why Members Love Tek-Tips Forums:

Register now while it's still free!

Already a member? Close this window and log in.

Join Us             Close