×
INTELLIGENT WORK FORUMS
FOR COMPUTER PROFESSIONALS

Contact US

Log In

Come Join Us!

Are you a
Computer / IT professional?
Join Tek-Tips Forums!
  • Talk With Other Members
  • Be Notified Of Responses
    To Your Posts
  • Keyword Search
  • One-Click Access To Your
    Favorite Forums
  • Automated Signatures
    On Your Posts
  • Best Of All, It's Free!

*Tek-Tips's functionality depends on members receiving e-mail. By joining you are opting in to receive e-mail.

Posting Guidelines

Promoting, selling, recruiting, coursework and thesis posting is forbidden.

Students Click Here

FrontPage upload conflict
2

FrontPage upload conflict

FrontPage upload conflict

(OP)
I've produced a web-site using FrontPage 2002, it has a home.htm (not an index.htm) and when I go to upload it, it 'green ticks' all .htm entries except the home page one, at which it simply says 'Conflict' - Tried renaming home.htm to index.htm, but lost links - Anyone any ideas as to what 'Conflict' indicates and how to overcome it please - FP Help doesn't!
sadeyes

RE: FrontPage upload conflict

Is that not the case that comes up when you have a matching file on each location (local and remote) that is the same, but there is some discrepancy?

What I would try is to try only publishing that one file (the original one, without the name change).  Or if you wanted to change the name, just make sure all your links are updated along with the name change.

If you know that your local file is the correct file, then when it asks you what to do, tell it to overright remote files with local files.

RE: FrontPage upload conflict

If that doesn't work, I'd try using an FTP program to go in and just delete the remote copy, and then publish/upload the correct (local) file.

RE: FrontPage upload conflict

You could also try to publish the entire web over writing what is already there instead of having FP check only for changes. (this isn't advisible if you have a database or somepage that gets updated dynamically through the site, guest book, counters, etc..)

When you go to File > Publish Site and authenticate you username and password click on the Remote Web Site Properties button on top right, then look for the 3 tabs across the top of the window and select Publishing. From there you can select to publish changed pages only or All pages, overwriting pages already on destination.

DBigger

Red Flag This Post

Please let us know here why this post is inappropriate. Reasons such as off-topic, duplicates, flames, illegal, vulgar, or students posting their homework.

Red Flag Submitted

Thank you for helping keep Tek-Tips Forums free from inappropriate posts.
The Tek-Tips staff will check this out and take appropriate action.

Reply To This Thread

Posting in the Tek-Tips forums is a member-only feature.

Click Here to join Tek-Tips and talk with other members! Already a Member? Login

Close Box

Join Tek-Tips® Today!

Join your peers on the Internet's largest technical computer professional community.
It's easy to join and it's free.

Here's Why Members Love Tek-Tips Forums:

Register now while it's still free!

Already a member? Close this window and log in.

Join Us             Close