My Client is currently introducing New computers (Win 2000 Pro) to their dBase IV Payroll system. The problem occurs when several users try to append records to the same database at the same time. The user with the Win2K pro computer will wipe out all of the updates made by the Win98 user. Two Win2K Pro users will selectively wipe out each others work. The Win 2K Pro computer ignors all record locks and other user updates. It almost appears like WIN 2K Pro makes a copy of the datafile when opened, then writes the file back when it is closed. The Clipper DBCOMMIT() command solves this problem (In Clipper). The AutoSave setting in dBase has no effect. This problem only seems to occur when appending records, editing existing records does not seem to be affected. I have discovered an inelegant solution: Close the datafile before and after appending a record. It seems to me there should be a way to change WIN2KPro so that it handles dBase files like WIN98, otherwise I have a huge coding job ahead.
Red Flag Submitted
Thank you for helping keep Tek-Tips Forums free from inappropriate posts. The Tek-Tips staff will check this out and take appropriate action.
Reply To This Thread
Posting in the Tek-Tips forums is a member-only feature.