You can retrieve deleted messages if a backup was performed during the time the message was in the use mailbox.
This is assuming that backups include messages.
You can restore an individual mailbox. If messages are restored to a users mailbox. Only messages that are not present in the mailbox will be restored. Any existing messages will remain. These will not be overwritten.