INTELLIGENT WORK FORUMS
FOR COMPUTER PROFESSIONALS

Log In

Come Join Us!

Are you a
Computer / IT professional?
Join Tek-Tips Forums!
  • Talk With Other Members
  • Be Notified Of Responses
    To Your Posts
  • Keyword Search
  • One-Click Access To Your
    Favorite Forums
  • Automated Signatures
    On Your Posts
  • Best Of All, It's Free!

*Tek-Tips's functionality depends on members receiving e-mail. By joining you are opting in to receive e-mail.

Posting Guidelines

Promoting, selling, recruiting, coursework and thesis posting is forbidden.

Jobs

z/OS QMF V10R1 Question on DSQEC_LAST_RUN Global Variable

z/OS QMF V10R1 Question on DSQEC_LAST_RUN Global Variable

z/OS QMF V10R1 Question on DSQEC_LAST_RUN Global Variable

(OP)
Hello ...

I'm not sure if I'm posting this question in the correct forum, if not, please let me know.

I'm hoping someone has some experience with the DSQEC_LAST_RUN global variable. I read this variable controls the updating of the LAST_USED column in Q.OBJECT_DIRECTORY. Our installation has this option set to "0", which causes the timestamp to update to the current timestamp any time a CONVERT, DISPLAY, EXPORT, IMPORT, LAYOUT, PRINT, RUN, or SAVE command is issued.

When it comes to managing our group libraries, if a user accesses an object (e.g. looking for code from one query or proc that was already written, etc...), for our purposes, it gives a false impression of when an object was really "last used." Since we perform reporting on QMF objects, this causes a bit of a problem for us. We have over 80,000 objects from the last 20+ years and we’re looking for a way to delete objects that are no longer valid or no longer used.

There are other options that will restrict the timestamp from being updated to only "RUN" commands. We have the option to temporarily changing this variable by setting the global to “1” (e.g. SET GLOBAL (DSQEC_LAST_RUN=1), however, this only persists for the current session.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what we can do so that when users access QMF, the option can be set to "1", on a per-user basis? Our system programmers are not willing to change the option globally.

Any thoughts or comments would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks you in advance.

Red Flag This Post

Please let us know here why this post is inappropriate. Reasons such as off-topic, duplicates, flames, illegal, vulgar, or students posting their homework.

Red Flag Submitted

Thank you for helping keep Tek-Tips Forums free from inappropriate posts.
The Tek-Tips staff will check this out and take appropriate action.

Reply To This Thread

Posting in the Tek-Tips forums is a member-only feature.

Click Here to join Tek-Tips and talk with other members!

Resources

Close Box

Join Tek-Tips® Today!

Join your peers on the Internet's largest technical computer professional community.
It's easy to join and it's free.

Here's Why Members Love Tek-Tips Forums:

Register now while it's still free!

Already a member? Close this window and log in.

Join Us             Close