INTELLIGENT WORK FORUMS
FOR COMPUTER PROFESSIONALS

Log In

Come Join Us!

Are you a
Computer / IT professional?
Join Tek-Tips Forums!
  • Talk With Other Members
  • Be Notified Of Responses
    To Your Posts
  • Keyword Search
  • One-Click Access To Your
    Favorite Forums
  • Automated Signatures
    On Your Posts
  • Best Of All, It's Free!

*Tek-Tips's functionality depends on members receiving e-mail. By joining you are opting in to receive e-mail.

Posting Guidelines

Promoting, selling, recruiting, coursework and thesis posting is forbidden.

Jobs

Another Baseball Puzzler

Another Baseball Puzzler

(OP)
In honor of Miguel Cabrera's Triple Crown (the first since Yaz in '67) and the sweep of the Yankees, here's another baseball puzzler:

How is it possible to have a triple play without any fielder's touching the batted ball?

-----------
With business clients like mine, you'd be better off herding cats.

RE: Another Baseball Puzzler

2

Hidden:

Runners on first and second, no outs. Batter pops up towards the SS. Batter is declared out by infield fly rule. The runner on first, who was breaking on the pitch, passes up the runner on 2nd, thus making the runner on first out number two. Meanwhile, the runner on 2nd is touched by the pop fly as it comes down, thus making him out number three.
making

--------------
Good Luck
To get the most from your Tek-Tips experience, please read
FAQ181-2886: How can I maximize my chances of getting an answer?
Wise men speak because they have something to say, fools because they have to say something. - Plato

RE: Another Baseball Puzzler

Spoiler:


Though most people agree on that, I was under the impression play stops the second the infield fly rule is called, and all other players must return to their starting locations. If play is let to continue then the infield fly rule is pointless, as any fielder could simply grab the ball and continue play.

Spoiler:


If a runner is touched by an infield fly that hasnl't been touched by anyone of the fielding team, both runner and batter are out instantly. To get the third out, The third player must run off base, after the runner is touched by the fly ball, and does not return to his base after the play is over for whatever reason, Umpire calls out.

----------------------------------
Phil AKA Vacunita
----------------------------------
Ignorance is not necessarily Bliss, case in point:
Unknown has caused an Unknown Error on Unknown and must be shutdown to prevent damage to Unknown.

Web & Tech

RE: Another Baseball Puzzler

Hidden:

==> I was under the impression play stops the second the infield fly rule is called, ...
It does not. The ball remains alive and runners may retreat to their previous base or advance to the next base. Once the rule is declared, the batter is out, but play continues. If the infield fly is caught, then the runners must return to their original bases; however, if it is not caught, runners may advance, but importantly, they are not forced to the next base. The sole purpose of the infield fly rule is to prevent an easy double play by watching the runners and playing accordginly. If the runners do not move towards their next base, then the fielders can allow to ball to hit the ground and easily get force outs at 3rd and 2nd base. If the runners do move towards their next base, then they catch the ball and double the runners(s) before they can return. By calling the infield fly rule immediately, the batter is out, meaning all force outs are also off the table, and the runners are on their own.

--------------
Good Luck
To get the most from your Tek-Tips experience, please read
FAQ181-2886: How can I maximize my chances of getting an answer?
Wise men speak because they have something to say, fools because they have to say something. - Plato

RE: Another Baseball Puzzler

(OP)
Well done, CC, and probably more well-known than I thought. I know an umpire who claimed he witnessed such a play.

-----------
With business clients like mine, you'd be better off herding cats.

RE: Another Baseball Puzzler

I see thanks for the explanation. CC. Very informative. Though it still suggests a double or triple play is possible if the runners are tagged in travel between bases. Correct?.

----------------------------------
Phil AKA Vacunita
----------------------------------
Ignorance is not necessarily Bliss, case in point:
Unknown has caused an Unknown Error on Unknown and must be shutdown to prevent damage to Unknown.

Web & Tech

RE: Another Baseball Puzzler

Once the infield fly is called, runners are not longer required to advance, so they will normally return to their bases. Even if the fielders choose to not catch it, the runners can just stay right where they are. They don't have to advance.

--------------
Good Luck
To get the most from your Tek-Tips experience, please read
FAQ181-2886: How can I maximize my chances of getting an answer?
Wise men speak because they have something to say, fools because they have to say something. - Plato

Red Flag This Post

Please let us know here why this post is inappropriate. Reasons such as off-topic, duplicates, flames, illegal, vulgar, or students posting their homework.

Red Flag Submitted

Thank you for helping keep Tek-Tips Forums free from inappropriate posts.
The Tek-Tips staff will check this out and take appropriate action.

Reply To This Thread

Posting in the Tek-Tips forums is a member-only feature.

Click Here to join Tek-Tips and talk with other members!

Resources

Close Box

Join Tek-Tips® Today!

Join your peers on the Internet's largest technical computer professional community.
It's easy to join and it's free.

Here's Why Members Love Tek-Tips Forums:

Register now while it's still free!

Already a member? Close this window and log in.

Join Us             Close