INTELLIGENT WORK FORUMS
FOR COMPUTER PROFESSIONALS

Log In

Come Join Us!

Are you a
Computer / IT professional?
Join Tek-Tips Forums!
  • Talk With Other Members
  • Be Notified Of Responses
    To Your Posts
  • Keyword Search
  • One-Click Access To Your
    Favorite Forums
  • Automated Signatures
    On Your Posts
  • Best Of All, It's Free!

*Tek-Tips's functionality depends on members receiving e-mail. By joining you are opting in to receive e-mail.

Posting Guidelines

Promoting, selling, recruiting, coursework and thesis posting is forbidden.

Jobs

Possible to Overwrite Files Without Confirmation

Possible to Overwrite Files Without Confirmation

(OP)
Here is a question for server admins. If a file is copied to a directory on the server, and a file already exists in that directory with the same file name, the user is presented with a dialogue box asking if they want to replace the existing file with the new one. Is there a directory permission setting that would allow immediate overwrites of existing files without presenting the "file already exists" dialogue box to the user?

In my case, an unattended desktop machine is creating and copying the files via s script to a couple of directories on a server. If the file is coming from a particular "user" signed in at that desktop, I'd like any existing file on the two server directories to be immediately overwritten, and not get the dialogue box. If the file is being copied from that machine, then in all cases it is OK for the existing file to be overwritten. An unanswered dialogue box stops the desktop from copying any further files until the "OK" button is clicked. I'd like to eliminate that hold-up.

Any ideas on this would be appreciated.

RE: Possible to Overwrite Files Without Confirmation

"copy /Y" overwrites without prompting

RE: Possible to Overwrite Files Without Confirmation

(OP)
Thanks for the advice. I should have been more specific - the desktop computer making the files ia a Macintosh and it is creating the files in Photoshop via a Photoshop action (script).

At one point the files went to the server without invoking the file overwrite confirmation dialogue box. That's why I was wondering if perhaps a change to the permissions on the destination folder would cause the dialogue box to start appearing.

Red Flag This Post

Please let us know here why this post is inappropriate. Reasons such as off-topic, duplicates, flames, illegal, vulgar, or students posting their homework.

Red Flag Submitted

Thank you for helping keep Tek-Tips Forums free from inappropriate posts.
The Tek-Tips staff will check this out and take appropriate action.

Reply To This Thread

Posting in the Tek-Tips forums is a member-only feature.

Click Here to join Tek-Tips and talk with other members!

Resources

Close Box

Join Tek-Tips® Today!

Join your peers on the Internet's largest technical computer professional community.
It's easy to join and it's free.

Here's Why Members Love Tek-Tips Forums:

Register now while it's still free!

Already a member? Close this window and log in.

Join Us             Close