INTELLIGENT WORK FORUMS
FOR COMPUTER PROFESSIONALS

Log In

Come Join Us!

Are you a
Computer / IT professional?
Join Tek-Tips Forums!
  • Talk With Other Members
  • Be Notified Of Responses
    To Your Posts
  • Keyword Search
  • One-Click Access To Your
    Favorite Forums
  • Automated Signatures
    On Your Posts
  • Best Of All, It's Free!

*Tek-Tips's functionality depends on members receiving e-mail. By joining you are opting in to receive e-mail.

Posting Guidelines

Promoting, selling, recruiting, coursework and thesis posting is forbidden.

Jobs

Daylight savings time 2007 affecting Linux

Daylight savings time 2007 affecting Linux

(OP)
Any have an idea if the change in the day when daylight savings start in 2007 has affects on Linux? I have found affects on Unix and Windows, but nothing Linux related. IBM says "Product impacted, details to follow".

RE: Daylight savings time 2007 affecting Linux

Hi,

If you don't set TZ variable, Linux (unix) can't know about the date when daylight saving starts and stops.

On an AIX box of mine, I have TZ like this :

CODE

#echo $TZ
CET-1CEST,M3.5.0/02:00,M10.5.0/03:00
#
Daylight saving starts on Month 3, last saturday at 2:00
stops on Month 10, last saturday at 3:00

Ali

RE: Daylight savings time 2007 affecting Linux

I don't know about all distributions, but my Fedora Core 6 box is already fixed.

The command:

zdump -v CST6CDT | grep 2007

(this is for U.S. Central Time, where I am.  For U.S. Eastern Time, replace "CST6CDT" with "EST5EDT") will output something like:

CST6CDT  Sun Mar 11 07:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 CST isdst=0 gmtoff=-21600
CST6CDT  Sun Mar 11 08:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 CDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-18000
CST6CDT  Sun Nov  4 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:59:59 2007 CDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-18000
CST6CDT  Sun Nov  4 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:00:00 2007 CST isdst=0 gmtoff=-21600


This indicates my machine will "spring forward" on Sunday, March 11 and "fall back" on Sunday, November 4, which I think is correct.

On my Fedora Core 6 system, that data is contained in the "tzdata" package.  If necessary (and if you have it), updating that package on your system will take care of it.



Want the best answers? Ask the best questions!  TANSTAAFL!

RE: Daylight savings time 2007 affecting Linux

Gentoo is ready

CODE

daisuke ~ # zdump -v MST7MDT | grep 2007
MST7MDT  Sun Mar 11 08:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 MST isdst=0
MST7MDT  Sun Mar 11 09:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 MDT isdst=1
MST7MDT  Sun Nov  4 07:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:59:59 2007 MDT isdst=1
MST7MDT  Sun Nov  4 08:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:00:00 2007 MST isdst=0

And opensuse 10.1

CODE

django:~ # zdump -v MST7MDT | grep 2007
MST7MDT  Sun Mar 11 08:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 MST isdst=0 gmtoff=-25200
MST7MDT  Sun Mar 11 09:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 MDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-21600
MST7MDT  Sun Nov  4 07:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:59:59 2007 MDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-21600
MST7MDT  Sun Nov  4 08:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:00:00 2007 MST isdst=0 gmtoff=-25200

and I assume any distro that can updated.

Red Hat 9.0 Pro doesn't qualify for updates anymore.  You can copy the timezone files from an updated distro and copy it to the outdated box.  I did that to one of my RH 9.0 boxes using the updated timezone file from my gentoo box.  I might retire the box before then but just in case I copied the file

Have Fun! afro2

Red Flag This Post

Please let us know here why this post is inappropriate. Reasons such as off-topic, duplicates, flames, illegal, vulgar, or students posting their homework.

Red Flag Submitted

Thank you for helping keep Tek-Tips Forums free from inappropriate posts.
The Tek-Tips staff will check this out and take appropriate action.

Reply To This Thread

Posting in the Tek-Tips forums is a member-only feature.

Click Here to join Tek-Tips and talk with other members!

Resources

Close Box

Join Tek-Tips® Today!

Join your peers on the Internet's largest technical computer professional community.
It's easy to join and it's free.

Here's Why Members Love Tek-Tips Forums:

Register now while it's still free!

Already a member? Close this window and log in.

Join Us             Close