Smart questions
Smart answers
Smart people
INTELLIGENT WORK FORUMS
FOR COMPUTER PROFESSIONALS

Member Login




Remember Me
Forgot Password?
Join Us!

Come Join Us!

Are you a
Computer / IT professional?
Join Tek-Tips now!
  • Talk With Other Members
  • Be Notified Of Responses
    To Your Posts
  • Keyword Search
  • One-Click Access To Your
    Favorite Forums
  • Automated Signatures
    On Your Posts
  • Best Of All, It's Free!

Join Tek-Tips
*Tek-Tips's functionality depends on members receiving e-mail. By joining you are opting in to receive e-mail.

Donate Today!

Do you enjoy these
technical forums?
Donate Today! Click Here

Posting Guidelines

Promoting, selling, recruiting, coursework and thesis posting is forbidden.
Jobs from Indeed

Link To This Forum!

Partner Button
Add Stickiness To Your Site By Linking To This Professionally Managed Technical Forum.
Just copy and paste the
code below into your site.

AdminDragon (IS/IT--Management) (OP)
14 Aug 06 9:13
Hello,

I am having a problem with Windows XP Pro SP2 machines where the local user profiles would change status to backup under the Userprofiles in the system properties. This seems to happen at random on more than one machine. The user will log off the night before and in the morning the user will log on and a new local profile folder will be created. Novell client 4.91 SP1 is the current client for network log in, but local windows profiles are used for the windows workstation. I had to delete the current local user account and create a new account. I was able to recover some of the old user profile by manually copying bits and pieces over. Could anyone shed some light as to why this would happen and is there a way to change the status back to enabled? Thank you for the help.

burninwolf (TechnicalUser)
14 Aug 06 10:16
Are you trying to backup off these pcs to a server etc?

www.trustnetwoks.co.uk
if you have a problem our techincal staff are here to help

bcastner (IS/IT--Management)
14 Aug 06 11:55
XP has detected some corruption in the user profile and has generated a new profile as a result.  There is nothing you can do to stop this;  XP will not use what it views as a corrupted profile.

For your consideration:

This might help keep instances of corruption down:

User Profile Hive Cleanup Service (Newest Version)
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=1B286E6D-8912-4E18-B570-42470E2F3582&displaylang=en

This will make it easier to restore the old profile:
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=811151




Reply To This Thread

Posting in the Tek-Tips forums is a member-only feature.

Click Here to join Tek-Tips and talk with other members!

Close Box

Join Tek-Tips® Today!

Join your peers on the Internet's largest technical computer professional community.
It's easy to join and it's free.

Here's Why Members Love Tek-Tips Forums:

Register now while it's still free!

Already a member? Close this window and log in.

Join Us             Close