INTELLIGENT WORK FORUMS
FOR COMPUTER PROFESSIONALS

Log In

Come Join Us!

Are you a
Computer / IT professional?
Join Tek-Tips Forums!
  • Talk With Other Members
  • Be Notified Of Responses
    To Your Posts
  • Keyword Search
  • One-Click Access To Your
    Favorite Forums
  • Automated Signatures
    On Your Posts
  • Best Of All, It's Free!

*Tek-Tips's functionality depends on members receiving e-mail. By joining you are opting in to receive e-mail.

Posting Guidelines

Promoting, selling, recruiting, coursework and thesis posting is forbidden.

Jobs

Replication

How to get a replicated database back to a normal database by HFloyd
Posted: 10 Sep 02

You don't need a special utility to re-make the database.(Though some are available)

Just follow these steps:

1. Synchronize all the replicas to the Design Master (so all the data is up-to-date) and delete the replicas (so that no inadvertent data changes will be made).

2. Open a NEW database file.

3. Go to File > Import...

4. Choose your Design Master.

4. Select all of your objects by clicking on each tab in turn and then clicking the button "Select All".

5. Once everything is selected click "OK".

6. Wait several minutes while everything is imported.

7. Go to Tools > Optionsà View. Un-check ôShow System Objectsö. If you are using Access 2000 +: also un-check the ôAuto-correct Namesö option.

7. Follow these steps for each table in your new database (This removes the replication system fields from your tables):
  1. Rename the table to <name>x (Where <name> is the original table name).
  2. Create a NEW query.
  3. Add just the table you renamed.
  4. Drag each field onto the design grid. (DO NOT use the asterisk (*) to do this!) If you see any fields named with an ôs_ö at the beginning (ôs_Generationö, etc) DO NOT include them in your design grid.
  5. Go to Query > Make-Table Queryà
  6. Type the original name for your new table.
  7. Click ôOKö.
  8. Go to Query > Runà
  9. Click ôYesö in the confirmation box.
  10. You donÆt need to save the query.
  11. Repeat for all the tables.

  8. You can now go back and delete all the ô<name>xö (Where <name> is the original table name) tables. You can also re-check the ôAuto-correct Namesö option if you like.

That's it!

Back to Microsoft: Access Other topics FAQ Index
Back to Microsoft: Access Other topics Forum

My Archive

Resources

Close Box

Join Tek-Tips® Today!

Join your peers on the Internet's largest technical computer professional community.
It's easy to join and it's free.

Here's Why Members Love Tek-Tips Forums:

Register now while it's still free!

Already a member? Close this window and log in.

Join Us             Close